Basic Understanding of Wi-Fi 6E (802.11ax in 6GHz)

Categories : 6E , WLAN

Wi-Fi6 is the standard for 802.11ax which can operate in 2.4GHz and 5GHz band only. Now Wi-Fi6E means, Wi-Fi6 extended [“E” in Wi-Fi 6E stands for “Extended] to 6GHz spectrum.

Let us first see some comparison table for Wi-Fi5, Wi-Fi6 and Wi-Fi6E. And try to understand the differences.

Understanding the comparison through some pictures:

I hope we already know this below table.






6GHz channels:

Total 1200MHz (1.2GHz) of bandwidth is released by FCC to use for Wi-Fi as unlicensed frequency band in US. 500 MHz of spectrum is released in the EU.

Wi-Fi6 vs Wi-Fi6E:

Operate in 2.4GHz, 5GHz.Operate in 6GHz.
Backward compatible with legacy standard like 11ac,11n,11g,11a,11b etc.Not backward compatible with legacy standard because there was no standard in 6GHz.
Frequency band is already available in maximum countries.Frequency band is only opened to few countries like United States and other countries (Brazil..). As of April 2023, still INDIA has not opened this band for Wi-Fi.
Some features: 8×8 uplink/downlink MU-MIMO, OFDMA, and BSS Color, WPA3, Target wake time (TWT), 1024 quadrature amplitude modulation mode (1024-QAM).Same features as Wi-Fi6 but operating in 6GHz Band. And adding 59 additional 20 MHz channels, 29 additional 40 MHz channels , 14 additional 80 MHz channels and 7 additional 160 MHz channels
More interference as legacy devices are there in same 2.4GHz and 5GHz band.More contiguous spectrum and less interference as no legacy devices are there in 6GHz
2.4GHz wireless spectrum uses longer wavelengths, so it can travel longer.6GHz wireless spectrum uses shorter wavelengths that means data transfer is faster but it cannot travel longer. Also it suffers interference from physical obstructions like dense walls or floors.


From this article we have learned some basic details between 802.11n, 802.11ac, 802.11ax and 802.11ax in 6GHz. We will learn more details in 6GHz in future posts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: